Skip to Main Content
Carroll County Schools

20 District Students Graduate Junior Chamber

Apr 11 2022

Twenty Carroll County School System students -- four from each high school -- graduated from the Carroll County Junior Chamber of Commerce Leadership Program April 11 at the Carroll County Schools Performing Arts Center. 

Bowdon High School
Caroline Huggins
Sarah Poe
Emma Robinson
Adam Stone

Central High School
Darby Burns
Laney Duffey
Brock McWhorter
Jesus Ortega

Mount Zion High School
Amberly Cannon
Noelle Ledford
Caleb Morse
Justin Ware

Temple High School
Delaney Akins
Aayush Patel
Madison Ross
Sarah Shivers

Villa Rica High School
Deborah Bonful
Akinwumi Fowowe
Emma Guthrie
Hudson Hyneman

The Carroll Junior Chamber of Commerce is designed to build strong leadership skills in participating high school students and develop community awareness and concern for the future of Carroll County. The program works with seven high schools (Bowdon, Carrollton, Central, Mt. Zion, Oak Mountain, Temple and Villa Rica) to provide a unique opportunity to twenty-eight students beginning their junior year of high school. The students, who are emerging leaders in their schools and the community, are chosen by high school administrators to take part in this program based on their academic performance, attendance and leadership potential. 

The students participate in a one-day per month program from September to April in which they are learning, engaging, and participating in group activities on subject such as understanding leadership, business etiquette, communications, team building, appreciating difference, managing conflict, setting goals, community asset mapping, and community service. 

The program follows the Youth Leadership in Action curriculum of the UGA J.W. Fanning Institute.