Skip to Main Content
Carroll County Schools

25 Carroll County Students Chosen to Advance to Next Round in 2021-22 Georgia Governor’s Honors Program

Nov 12 2021

On Tuesday, November 9, 2021, 71 sophomores and juniors from the Carroll County high schools participated in local interviews as part of the process for the Georgia Governor's Honors Program (GHP).  These 71 students were nominated by their individual high schools to compete in areas such as Science, Social Studies, Math, Spanish, Music, Visual Arts, Communicative Arts, Engineering, and Agricultural Research.

From these local interviews, 25 Carroll County students were chosen to advance to the next round of the GHP selection process:


Bowdon High School:

Ellen Powell-Mathematics

Adam Stone-Agricultural Research

Central High School:

Ty Martin and Cayden Wilson-Engineering

Darby Burns-Spanish

Anna Stober-Visual Arts

Laney Duffey-Communicative Arts

Brock McWhorter and Addison Denney-Mathematics

Sarah Dutton-Science

Natalie Proskell-Visual Arts

Jesus Garduno-Ortega and Olivia Vande Kerkhoff-Music

Mt. Zion High School:

Caleb Morse-Social Studies

Temple High School:

Jackson Shirley-Social Studies

Aayush Patel and Julia Ralston-Mathematics

Villa Rica High School:

Elizabeth Hartley and Akin Fowowe-Communicative Arts

Ranon Capps and Emma Grace Weathers-Visual Arts

Rayne Tyson, Victoria Barajas, and William Dayvolt-Music

Elijah Farmer-Engineering


Governor's Honors is a four-week summer residential program on the campus of Berry College for gifted and talented high school students.  GHP offers instruction designed to provide students with academic, cultural, and social enrichment necessary to become the next generation of global critical thinkers, innovators, and leaders.

Carroll County Schools would like to thank Roopville Road Baptist Church for hosting this event.