Skip to Main Content
Carroll County Schools

Board members take oaths for new terms

Jan 03 2023

Carroll County Board of Education members Sandra Morris, Bryant Turner and Tom Sizemore took their oaths of office January 3 administered by Carroll County Probate Court Judge Edie Haney. Morris represents District 2 (Temple), Turner represents District 7 (Central), and Sizemore represents District 5 (Mount Zion). 

Morris and Turner were reelected to new four-year terms. Sizemore was elected for the first time to replace longtime board member Donald Nixon who retired.

“I look forward to working with the rest of the Board to continue the work that Carroll County Schools has done over the past several years in developing a culture that our students, staff members, and families can be proud to be a part of,” Sizemore said.

“I want to help facilitate the continued improvements being made to the facilities where our students and staff members spend so much of their time and to improve our already outstanding ‘life after high school’ programs such as 12 for Life, JROTC, and STEM, as well as our Fine Arts and Athletics programs,” Sizemore said.

Sizemore, who is district manager for Ollie’s Bargain Outlet, is originally from Columbia County. He is a graduate of Abraham Baldwin Agricultural College where he received a degree in agricultural economics and the University of Georgia where he earned a bachelor’s degree in the same discipline. He and his wife, Vicki, have two sons who attended Mount Zion schools.

“It is always good to see our board members formally accept their office and affirm their desire to support the children of Carroll County,” Carroll County School Superintendent Scott Cowart said. 

“We want to extend a warm welcome to Mr. Sizemore. He has already proven himself a huge supporter of the Mount Zion Cluster schools over many years, and we look forward to working with him in this new and important capacity.”

The board of education will begin 2023 with a worksession January 9 and its regular monthly board meeting on January 12.