Skip to Main Content
Carroll County Schools

Carroll County School System Announces New Principal and Assistant Principals

Apr 22 2022

The Carroll County Board of Education voted to approve a new principal for Temple Middle School and five new assistant principals at the Thursday, April 21 Board Meeting. 

“We are excited for these new assignments for current Carroll County leaders, and we also welcome new leadership to our 24STRONG Team,” Superintendent Scott Cowart said. “Each of these administrators is a proven leader who is committed to our purpose of positively changing the lives of our students.”

Dr. Cynthia Beers will serve as principal of Temple Middle School beginning in June. Dr. Beers has most recently served as Coordinator of High School Instructional Support at the district level, but has five years of assistant principal experience at both the middle and high school levels. Her bachelor’s, master’s, specialist and doctorate degrees are all from the University of West Georgia (UWG), with a graduate certificate in educational leadership from UWG, as well. She is a two-time STAR teacher, received an AP Champion Award in 2016, served on Governor Nathan Deal’s Legislative Task Force for Educational Reform and has completed the GAEL Aspiring Principals program. She and her husband, Mike, have two sons.

The Board also approved five new assistant principals for the system. 

Dr. Tyson Askew will be assistant principal at Bowdon Elementary School. He currently serves as Director of Music Education at Heard County Schools. 

Chip Stephens will be assistant principal at Bowdon Middle School. He currently teaches science at BMS. 

Erica Keel will be assistant principal at Glanton-Hindsman Elementary School. She currently serves as guidance counselor at Temple High School. 

Ashley Tolbert will be assistant principal at Ithica Elementary School. She currently serves as Instructional Lead Support Specialist at Sand Hill Elementary School. 

Shana Hartsfield will be assistant principal at Mount Zion Elementary School. She currently serves as Instructional Lead Support Specialist at MZES.

They all will begin their new positions for the 2022-2023 school year.