Skip to Main Content
Carroll County Schools

Carroll County Schools Hosts 7th Annual Yes I Can Awards

May 04 2018

Carroll County School System's Exceptional Children Services (ECS) held the 7th annual "Yes I Can" awards ceremony at the Carroll County Schools Performing Arts Center. Tonya Jiles, Director of ECS, served as the emcee for the event. Calvin Fox from Central Elementary School led the audience of nearly 500 in the Pledge of Allegiance, and Jaylon Williams from Bay Springs Middle School and Aaron Hogan from Villa Rica High School provided the entertainment.
The Council for Exceptional Children started this event to celebrate the achievements of children and youth with disabilities. Students of all ages were recognized for their accomplishments. Additionally, individuals and groups received awards in the following categories:
  • Yes I Can Buddy Award - Daynah Brown, Brittany Cleland, Gracie Horn, Misty King, Abby Long, Emily Pilgrim, Journey Rogers, Haleigh Schroeder, Mary Stegall, Aiden West
  • Community Service Award - Boy Scout Troop #2819
  • ECS Professional of the Year Award - Elissa Huggins
  • ECS Outstanding Educator of the Year Award - Pamela Levett
  • ECS Teachers of the Year - Eric Fussell and Tiffany Gallegos of Mount Zion Middle School and Ruth Smith from Sand Hill Elementary School