Skip to Main Content
Carroll County Schools

Four Schools Recertified as National STEM Campuses

May 18 2023

Providence Elementary School, Roopville Elementary School, Sand Hill Elementary School, and Whitesburg Elementary School have been recertified as STEM campuses by the National Institute for STEM Education. 

NISE-certified STEM campuses have implemented 21st-century learning and strategies in Science, Technology, Engineering and Mathematics that transform school culture and maximize student achievement. Only 2 percent of schools in the nation are nationally STEM certified, and these schools must be recertified every three years to ensure they maintain rigorous standards. Fourteen Carroll County Schools campuses are NISE-certified STEM campuses.

NISE utilizes a competency-based, online academic platform for educators to produce a portfolio of work that demonstrates proficiency across 15 STEM teacher actions and 28 campus indicators. By using a self-paced, mentor-led approach, NISE certifies teachers, campuses, and districts in STEM education. 

“During our initial certifications, school leaders were empowered to become the lead STEM learner on their campuses. Continuing to foster creativity, communication, collaboration, and critical thinking skills prepares students for the future workforce,” Providence Elementary Principal Christi McLendon said.

Evolving from STEM professional development and curriculum created at Rice University, the National Institute for STEM Education certification process integrates the most recent research and best practices in STEM, 21st-century learning, and professional development.

“Since our initial certifications, our schools have worked hard to continue STEM learning for every student,” Roopville Elementary Principal Marla Turpin said. “STEM is woven throughout our buildings as an essential component of the education we provide our students.”

In addition to this honor, 18 teachers at these schools have earned their National STEM Teacher Certification. The National Institute for STEM Education is at the cutting edge of STEM pedagogy underpinned by student autonomy, constructivism, explicit/reflective methodology, and 21st century skill building. 

“National STEM certification is a prestigious accomplishment, and we are absolutely thrilled to be recognized among only 2 percent of schools in the nation,” Sand Hill Elementary Principal David Jaye said. “This is a testament to the hard work and commitment of our teachers – a commitment to continue to positively change lives!”

A premier organization for national STEM certification, the National Institute for STEM is a support system for campuses seeking to improve their implementation of STEM practices. These schools have been successful in continuing to implement its STEM Action Plan towards becoming an even stronger STEM campus. 

“Carroll County Schools empower educators to become stronger, more innovative, and comprehensive in our quest to provide premier opportunities for all students and by consistently developing STEM practices we support our efforts in positively changing lives,” Whitesburg Elementary Principal Lindsey Long said.

Teachers earning their National STEM Certificate are

From Providence Elementary

Heather Atwood


Christina Flores


Jennifer Morrow


Greg Patterson


Nikki Rice

From Roopville Elementary

Taylor Swift


Carly Collins


Violet Hoying


From Sand Hill Elementary

Heather Lambert


Heather Duffey


Angela McMichael


Melissa Trippe


From Whitesburg Elementary

Casey Haggadone


Dana Little


Kellie Rohling


Laykin Toney


Amy Witcher